Podcast available at https://www.patreon.com/posts/20363025
New regulations in Oklahoma require doctors to issue a pregnancy test to women of childbearing age prior to issuing a medical marijuana recommendation. The outcome of the pregnancy test is irrelevant; recommendations for pregnant women are not barred. The test exists merely to “make sure that the physician and the patient are informed of potential pregnancy and have a conversation about potential effects,” said Buffy Heater, director of government and regulatory affairs at the Oklahoma State Department of Health. “Childbearing age” is not defined in the law and the law makes no exception for women incapable or unlikely to become pregnant through birth control or surgery. While some medical marijuana states require doctors to discuss the effects of cannabis use on pregnancy and breastfeeding, none require women to take an unnecessary test that can cost between $12 and $60.